Manga Review: Magus of the Library, Vol. 1

9781632368232Magus of the Library, Vol. 1
Mitsu Izumi

Quick review: lovely art, other story elements were lackluster

In a small village far from the Central Library of Azaraat, a poor little boy struggles against bullies of all ages who call him “long-ears”, and mock his appearance. His only solace: the books he sneaks out of the village’s tiny branch library, which he and other kids from the Slums are not allowed to enter. When a group of librarians from the Great Library arrives to investigate news of a magical grimoire, he’s dazzled by all of them, but especially Sedona. Her knowledge and glamour and her magic make his life so exciting. Not to mention her kindness too… Perhaps she’s the hero he’s been waiting for?
– Adapted from Goodreads

This first volume feels more like a prequel or an extended prologue than anything else. You could read the blurb and feel like you read the story, honestly. Most of this first volume is spent waxing poetic about the inherent amazingness of books and librarians. I couldn’t decided whether I wanted to cringe or be flattered by the representation.

I’m unfamiliar with the story this manga is based on, “Kahuna of the Wind.” Even using some of my research skills, I couldn’t locate this story…  I came up with something perhaps Hawaiian in origin? But with a completely different author, so I’m a little flummoxed.

The representation in this book also feels… weird to me? The protagonist is pale and elf-like in appearance, whereas everyone else except the librarians is darker toned and human. The manga tries to paint this picture of hostility and abuse towards the boy without much background given on why we should accept such discrimination? Especially when it completely breaks with how our own world has such problems already? Also, apparently the only thing needed to cure racism is a stern talking to from a librarian Mom.

It’s too idealistic. And, while yes, it is fantasy, the framework for discrimination is flimsy, so why build it at all? Because, ultimately, this series is going to put this pale boy forward as the Hero, and project him as Better Than where he came from. And that’s going to make this problematic. Calling it now…

The magic system of this world isn’t given much of an explanation, and I’m uncertain how it works. Even with Harry Potter, a mess of a magic system, there seemed a semblance of rules and balance. The divisions of the librarian department jobs make sense, and then Izumi tries to do an overlay of magic and drama to it. Trust me, repairing a book is not that fast or high stakes, but I appreciated the time put in to making archival work look cool.

And that’s my other small gripe with this book: it conflates libraries with archives and perpetuates the idea that all books are sacred. I’m sorry, no. As a librarian I have to weed my collection regularly to keep it growing and relevant. This manga gets a slight pass from me, since it appears to be occurring in the proto-popular fiction era, and more rigorous reading was the rule of the day. But still!

A lot more world building has to happen in order for me to get behind the concepts Izumi is trying to float.

Ultimately, I probably won’t continue reading this series. The art is its saving grace for me, and is in a similar realm to Witch Hat Atelier, but the other elements of the story are lackluster at this point. I may give Volume 2 a try to see if it improves, but I’m inclined to believe it won’t.

 

Leave a comment